Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: AO economics for n00bs & fr00bs alike

Thumbs up AO economics for n00bs & fr00bs alike

Before I go on to explain a couple of things, let me just say what my background is; I work with economics and marketing. I put up budgets every day, and I work with hundreds of different firms. I know VERY WELL how the supply and demand system works, and the real world standard model that we all relate to cannot really be compared to AO. More on that in a sec.

I have also - as many on RK2 know, been farming credits since I started playing this game right after launch - so soon 4 years. I have seen the change in the AO economy, and I have been a part of raising and lowering the prizes. I've been able to make 1b+ a week when the most expensive items out there was RBP's for 350m. I was also the one that started the insane RBP prices on RK2 by selling one for 900m when it was going for 400'ish, and everyone and their dog tried to sell theirs for even more afterwards.

Anyways, enough "bragging" if you want to call it that. First of all, there is a MAJOR difference between real world economics and AO. First of all, in AO you are never dependant of money. You don't have credits, who cares? No one is gonna kick you out of your home, cut your elecricity... you wont go to bed hungry. In AO, everything you buy is luxury. You might say that "but I need X weapon and it costs hell of a lot!"... well, if that "X" weapon is in the hundreds of mills, then you don't need it. Period. Almost everything you need, you can blitz. The rest is luxury. You don't NEED to be über, and you most definately cannot claim that being über is a right you have. It is like with respect. You cannot get it, you have to earn it.